Faye-Ellen Silverman

Alternating Currents

Year: 2002

Duration (in minutes): 7'39;

Difficulty: High (professional)

Category: small chamber ensembles - 2 to 4 players, solo brass with piano, solo instrument with piano

Instruments: Bass Trombone, piano

Publisher: Subito Music Corporation

Description: In commissioning this work, Thomas Matta mentioned that it would be premiered as part of a series celebrating America and American music. This thought led me to the title “Alternating Currents” (represented by beginning the piece on A and ending on C, and two alternating tempos) as, in my mind, part of America’s strength comes from its technology, and the title term comes from the field of electricity. The definition of the title term also states that the field is strongest when lines are close together – a concept relating not only to electricity but also to the idea of America as a melting pot.

array(8) { ["post_type"]=> array(3) { [0]=> string(7) "catalog" [1]=> string(5) " disc" [2]=> string(5) "video" } ["author_name"]=> NULL ["s"]=> NULL ["orderby"]=> string(5) "title" ["order"]=> string(3) "ASC" ["posts_per_page"]=> int(-1) ["tax_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } ["meta_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } }