Faye-Ellen Silverman

Dialogue Continued

Year: 2000

Duration (in minutes): 9 1/2'39;

Difficulty: High (professional)

Category: brass ensemble, brass trio, small chamber ensembles - 2 to 4 players

Instruments: any brass, horn, trombone, tuba

Publisher: Subito Music Corporation

Description: “Dialogue Continued”, for horn, trombone, and tuba, began as a continuation of “Dialogue” (a horn – tuba duet) written from the perspective of nearly a quarter of a century later in time. This new work is in five short movements. The first and third movements are moderate in tempo (choosing the same tempo as the second movement of the original “Dialogue”), the second and fourth slow. The fifth movement, the longest of the work, moves from a slow introduction to a fast main movement. The note “B” seemed a natural tonal center, as the work is for brass instruments, two of the three players premiering this work have last names beginning with B, and this pitch began and ended the original “Dialogue”. The pitch “A” represents the first name of the third player. The wide variety of ranges and tone colors that are available from these three instruments – from close-knit ensembles to extreme ranges - has been exploited in creating this work.
This work – my first composition of the 21st century - was commissioned by Susan Slaughter for members of the Monarch Brass Quintet’s performance at the National Museum of Women in the Arts.

array(8) { ["post_type"]=> array(3) { [0]=> string(7) "catalog" [1]=> string(5) " disc" [2]=> string(5) "video" } ["author_name"]=> NULL ["s"]=> NULL ["orderby"]=> string(5) "title" ["order"]=> string(3) "ASC" ["posts_per_page"]=> int(-1) ["tax_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } ["meta_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } }