Marilyn Bliss


Year: 1981

Duration (in minutes): 10’30”

Difficulty: High (professional)

Category: solo brass instrument, solo instrument other than piano

Instruments: tuba

Publisher: American Composers Alliance

Publisher website:

Outside URL:

Video Links:

Video Links:

Video Links:

Video Links:

Purchase score URL:

Description: Evocations for solo tuba was written in 1982 and is dedicated to Albert Dlugasch, who premiered the work. The four movements explore the broad range of sound, timbre, register, and emotion obtainable on this too-often misunderstood and neglected instrument. The first movement, Præludium, opens with brassy, fanfare-like material, contrasting with a second theme of mellow lyricism. It is followed by the black humor of Burlesque, and the sweet melancholy of Arioso. The final movement, Largo-Finale, begins slowly in the tuba's lowest register, then adds a second line in contrary motion as the performer hums into the instrument. The mood is interrupted by a triplet figure introducing the finale, an intricate, whirlwind movement of virtuosic difficulty.

array(8) { ["post_type"]=> array(3) { [0]=> string(7) "catalog" [1]=> string(5) " disc" [2]=> string(5) "video" } ["author_name"]=> NULL ["s"]=> NULL ["orderby"]=> string(5) "title" ["order"]=> string(3) "ASC" ["posts_per_page"]=> int(-1) ["tax_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } ["meta_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } }