Gladys Moskowitz (1928-2024)

Fountain of Youth

Year: 2003

Duration (in minutes): 50:16:00

Difficulty: Medium (college/community)

Category: opera, orchestra and chamber orchestra

Instruments: baritone voice, bass voice, piano, soprano

Score PDF: fountain_of_youth_pno_voc_score_smaller-5.pdf

Description: Based on the story "Dr. Heidegger's Experiment," by Nathaniel Hawthorne. Four old people are given the opportunity to drink water from the Fountain of Youth and to become young again. BUT of course as the saying goes (and the story) If we had the chance to live our lives
over again, we would probably make the same mistakes. (Audio 3 features the full audio). In "I Was a Prosperous Merchant" the baritone bemoans his fall from a successful (unscrupulous) merchant to poverty. "I Have Wasted my Best Years" the tenor sadly (nostalgically) recalls his lustful past.

array(8) { ["post_type"]=> array(3) { [0]=> string(7) "catalog" [1]=> string(5) " disc" [2]=> string(5) "video" } ["author_name"]=> NULL ["s"]=> NULL ["orderby"]=> string(5) "title" ["order"]=> string(3) "ASC" ["posts_per_page"]=> int(-1) ["tax_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } ["meta_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } }