Victoria Bond

Frescoes and Ash (chamber or string orchestra)

Year: 2009

Duration (in minutes): 20'39;

Difficulty: Medium (college/community)

Category: larger chamber ensembles - more than 4 players, mixed instrument ensemble, orchestra and chamber orchestra, string ensemble

Instruments: any string, any woodwind, cello, clarinet, contrabass, percussion, piano, viola, violin

Description: Seven movements based on frescoes and mosaics in Pompeii: I. Street Musicians; II. Marine Mosaic; III. Scene from a Comedy; IV The Sybil’s Speaks; V. Chiron Teaches Achilles to Play the Lyre; VI. Alexander Mosaic; VII. Ash: Awareness of Mortality. Commissioned and premiered by the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, 2009.

array(8) { ["post_type"]=> array(3) { [0]=> string(7) "catalog" [1]=> string(5) " disc" [2]=> string(5) "video" } ["author_name"]=> NULL ["s"]=> NULL ["orderby"]=> string(5) "title" ["order"]=> string(3) "ASC" ["posts_per_page"]=> int(-1) ["tax_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } ["meta_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } }