Faye-Ellen Silverman

Just for Fun

Year: 1994

Duration (in minutes): 10 1/2'39;

Difficulty: Medium (college/community)

Category: orchestra and chamber orchestra

Publisher: Subito Music Corporation

Description: Composers are often asked, "For whom are you writing this composition?" As the name implies, this work was written "Just For Fun". It was also written to provide pleasure for performers and audience alike. In this work, each short movement treats melody in a different way. In the first miniature, one melody evolves into another (with a faint reprise of an earlier melodic idea at the end). In the second, melodic fragments are interwoven above a flowing melody. And in the last, melodies are inter-cut rapidly -- somewhat in the style of MTV. The three movements are connected tonally. The first moves from D to E, the second from E to C, and the last remains centered around C.

array(8) { ["post_type"]=> array(3) { [0]=> string(7) "catalog" [1]=> string(5) " disc" [2]=> string(5) "video" } ["author_name"]=> NULL ["s"]=> NULL ["orderby"]=> string(5) "title" ["order"]=> string(3) "ASC" ["posts_per_page"]=> int(-1) ["tax_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } ["meta_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } }