Faye-Ellen Silverman


Year: 1981

Duration (in minutes): 15'39;

Difficulty: High (professional)

Category: brass ensemble, brass quintet, larger chamber ensembles - more than 4 players

Instruments: any brass, horn, trombone, trumpet, tuba

Publisher: Subito Music Corporation

Description: “Kalends”, written for the Mt. Vernon Brass Players at the request of its trumpet player, Langston Fitzgerald III, (then also playing with the Baltimore Symphony), is a work in three movements, connected by two solo interludes. As the title suggests (Webster’s dictionary defines “kalends” or “calends” as “to announce solemnly”), the work contains of forceful brass chords in the first and third movements. These are interspersed with shorter solos. In the first movement these soloistic moments (beginning with a half step in the trombone – an important interval in the entire work) grow in length and complexity, and prepare the interlude. In the third movement these become, in turn, short sections of rapid counterpoint. The second movement, by contrast, is built of layers, with each instrument having its own kind of motion and function. The work ends – again in keeping with its title – with a final announcement of chordal material.

array(8) { ["post_type"]=> array(3) { [0]=> string(7) "catalog" [1]=> string(5) " disc" [2]=> string(5) "video" } ["author_name"]=> NULL ["s"]=> NULL ["orderby"]=> string(5) "title" ["order"]=> string(3) "ASC" ["posts_per_page"]=> int(-1) ["tax_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } ["meta_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } }