Elizabeth Bell (1928-2016)

Les Neiges d'Antan

Year: 1998

Duration (in minutes): 0'39

Difficulty: Medium (college/community)

Category: mixed instrument ensemble, small chamber ensembles - 2 to 4 players, solo instrument with piano, solo string with piano

Instruments: any string, piano, violin

Publisher: American Composers Alliance

Description: The four movements (Sno-Dreams, Elegy, Shadow-Dance, The Furies) touch on different qualities of nostalgia, inspired by a poem by the 15th century French poet, Francois Villon. Written for North/South Consonance, it was premiered by Renee Jolles and Max Lifchitz in May of 1999 in New York City. Lyrical yet challenging. Professional difficulty.

array(8) { ["post_type"]=> array(3) { [0]=> string(7) "catalog" [1]=> string(5) " disc" [2]=> string(5) "video" } ["author_name"]=> NULL ["s"]=> NULL ["orderby"]=> string(5) "title" ["order"]=> string(3) "ASC" ["posts_per_page"]=> int(-1) ["tax_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } ["meta_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } }