Faye-Ellen Silverman

Restless Winds

Year: 1986

Duration (in minutes): 5'39;

Difficulty: Medium (college/community)

Category: larger chamber ensembles - more than 4 players, woodwind ensemble, woodwind quintet

Instruments: any brass, any woodwind, bassoon, clarinet, flute, horn, oboe

Publisher: Subito Music Corporation

Description: As the name of the woodwind quintet that commissioned this work is Con Spirito, the title “Restless Winds” immediately came to mind. In this short work, five different ideas – each with distinct tempo, timbre, and melodic or gestural material – are intercut. No idea remains present for too long, however, since the winds are too “restless” to stay on a conventional course. The ordering of these ideas (which often vary with each appearance) is meant to seem unpredictable. The nonchalant bassoon material – a meandering melody that continually gets diverted – unifies the composition via its appearance at the beginning, end, and within the work. As with the title (and, hence, with the form), the dance-like nature of some of the main ideas also derives from free association with the name Con Spirito

array(8) { ["post_type"]=> array(3) { [0]=> string(7) "catalog" [1]=> string(5) " disc" [2]=> string(5) "video" } ["author_name"]=> NULL ["s"]=> NULL ["orderby"]=> string(5) "title" ["order"]=> string(3) "ASC" ["posts_per_page"]=> int(-1) ["tax_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } ["meta_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } }