Elizabeth Austin

Symphony No. 2 ("Lighthouse")

Year: 1994

Duration (in minutes): 15'39;

Difficulty: Medium (college/community)

Category: orchestra and chamber orchestra

Publisher: American Composers Alliance

Description: This work represents an "Adieux!" at the turn of the millennium, through its structural use of musical quotes from European and American sources. A lighthouse as a metaphoric beacon provides the program for the first movement. The second movement is a Burlesque on a theme by Johann Stamitz (The composer honors Mannheim through this usage; she returns to Mannheim each spring.) An Elegia concludes the work, with the radiant lighthouse once more brought to mind in an incantation.

array(8) { ["post_type"]=> array(3) { [0]=> string(7) "catalog" [1]=> string(5) " disc" [2]=> string(5) "video" } ["author_name"]=> NULL ["s"]=> NULL ["orderby"]=> string(5) "title" ["order"]=> string(3) "ASC" ["posts_per_page"]=> int(-1) ["tax_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } ["meta_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } }