Marilyn Bliss

Three Short Movements

Year: 1989

Duration (in minutes): 5'

Difficulty: Medium (college/community)

Category: solo brass instrument, solo instrument other than piano

Instruments: trombone

Publisher: American Composers Alliance

Publisher website:

Video Links:

Purchase score URL:

Description: A suite of three concise bravura movements for solo trombone. The first opens with a fanfare, then immediately hides in the shadows, before playfully popping out again. The movement then shifts to perpetual motion, surprising with unexpected sforzandos and slides, before fading back to the shadows. The second movement is a soulful aria, to be played lyrically and with heartfelt longing. The third movement is a brilliant contrast in dynamics, registers, and rhythms, steadily accumulating into a whirlwind of virtuosic energy. Three Short Movements was premiered by Jerry Owen; it was originally in composed in 1976 and revised in 1989.

array(8) { ["post_type"]=> array(3) { [0]=> string(7) "catalog" [1]=> string(5) " disc" [2]=> string(5) "video" } ["author_name"]=> NULL ["s"]=> NULL ["orderby"]=> string(5) "title" ["order"]=> string(3) "ASC" ["posts_per_page"]=> int(-1) ["tax_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } ["meta_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } }