Faye-Ellen Silverman

Yet For Him

Year: 1980

Duration (in minutes): 10'39;

Difficulty: High (professional)

Category: mixed instrument ensemble, mixed instrument trio, small chamber ensembles - 2 to 4 players

Instruments: any string, any woodwind, cello, flute, piano

Publisher: Subito Music Corporation

Description: Written at the request of former Baltimore Symphony flutist Bonnie Lake for a recital, “Yet For Him” is also intended as an eightieth birthday present for my former teacher, Otto Luening. His name is stated at the beginning. A crescendo followed by a diminuendo on held pitches form the Os, and flute trills bisected by a piano-cello chord form the ts. This opening material generates much of the composition. The work is in four continuous sections – slow/medium fast/slow/fast. The first and fourth sections are related, and the second and third sections open with the pitches of the first piano chord of the composition. Parts of this composition are written either without bar lines or with irregular time signatures. The piano writing includes many pitches played inside the piano.

array(8) { ["post_type"]=> array(3) { [0]=> string(7) "catalog" [1]=> string(5) " disc" [2]=> string(5) "video" } ["author_name"]=> NULL ["s"]=> NULL ["orderby"]=> string(5) "title" ["order"]=> string(3) "ASC" ["posts_per_page"]=> int(-1) ["tax_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } ["meta_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } }