Joelle Wallach

Quartet For Saxophones

Year: 1981

Duration (in minutes): 11'39;

Difficulty: Medium (college/community)

Category: small chamber ensembles - 2 to 4 players, woodwind ensemble, woodwind quartet

Instruments: alto saxophone, any saxophone, any woodwind, baritone saxophone, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone

Publisher: To the Fore Publishers

Publisher website:

Outside URL:

Purchase score URL:

Description: Joelle Wallach’s two movement Quartet for Saxophones is a study in the parallel roles saxophones have played in the jazz and classical traditions. The first movement can be heard as a formal passacaglia or a murky blues. The contrasting second movement is a fugue with a jagged, jazzy subject. The piece was written in 1980 in New York City and revised there as well, seventeen years later, in 1997

array(8) { ["post_type"]=> array(3) { [0]=> string(7) "catalog" [1]=> string(5) " disc" [2]=> string(5) "video" } ["author_name"]=> NULL ["s"]=> NULL ["orderby"]=> string(5) "title" ["order"]=> string(3) "ASC" ["posts_per_page"]=> int(-1) ["tax_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } ["meta_query"]=> array(1) { ["relation"]=> string(3) "AND" } }